I have been trying to write a post for three days now.

But every time I log in, or sit down to write, I get distracted by all the other aspects of blogging. Productive procrastination has always been a favourite past-time of mine.

So, instead of writing, I have been playing around with my blog instead. Fiddling with the theme, editing old posts, scrolling through other blogs trying to find inspiration. Which turns to unproductive procrastination, as I end up sitting in front of the computer lamenting over my inability to take beautiful photographs like the ones I see elsewhere. Then, to add to my lack of productivity, I attempt to take better pictures. Which does not end well. Making things look aesthetically pleasing has never been a talent of mine. I work with words, not images.

And then, while fiddling and lamenting, I’m reminded of just how technologically inept I am. Oh sure, I can figure most things out. Eventually. Usually after spending hours googling the problem. But, like taking pretty pictures, it does not come easily to me.

Even when I think I have it under control, the computer seems to take on a life of its own, and things get confusing again. The machines are rising people, *insert tin-foil hat conspiracy theorist rant here*

But, just when all hope seems lost, and I start to believe that I am completely hopeless, books come to the rescue. In this case, one book in particular.

When I first read Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout, I had no intention of starting a blog. I hadn’t even begun my journey as a fledgling writer. I was just a girl who loves to read books. Especially when those books star beautiful, dark haired boys with a lot of attitude (as I’ve previously mentioned, they are my weakness).

While I was meant to be reading another book for review, I ended up re-reading Obsidian. Which, of course, has led to me re-reading the entire series. Because who can stop at one?

And now that I have my own book blog, I relate to Katy even more. Though, she’s far better at blogging than I am. Unlike myself, Katy posts regularly, she actually reviews the books she says she’s going to review, and she even posts videos of herself talking about books. Really she does it all.

One particular line struck a chord with me last night, as I attempted to customise my blog theme. Honestly, if I ever get any better at this, I may have to think about investing in a paid plan, just for the custom design feature.

On page 154, Katy expresses exactly what I had been struggling with for over an hour.

“Only when a book release countdown widget had completely disappeared, lost to the realm of the Internet, did I force myself away from the computer.”

I remember when I first read that line. I was slightly confused over the word ‘widget’, though I just assumed it was some internet term I was unfamiliar with, and moved on. Now after all the time and energy I’ve expended with themes, widgets, and content, it all makes sense.

As the title says, blogging can be hard.

I would like to give a heartfelt congratulations to those of you out there that make it seem so easy. Congratulations to the jet-setters, to the reviewers, to those who take breathtaking photographs, or cook delicious meals (here’s looking at you Anika, from anikamcm.wordpress.com), and all the rest. You guys are awesome.

But I am going to take Katy’s words to heart. I am going to force myself away from the computer, and stop all of my blog fiddling. For now at least.

Instead, I’m going to go and read a book.

 

