So this weekend, both my reading and my writing have fallen by the wayside.

I was supposed to be finishing my edits, and reading The Fellowship of the Ring for a review. Instead, I spent my time walking through one of Australia’s largest secondhand book sales. The Lifeline bookfest.

lifeline1.JPG

Now, if you haven’t been before, I most definitely recommend that you go! They hold them all around Queensland, 1-2 times a year.

I actually went two days in a row. First, with friends, then the following day I went alone. This second trip was entirely impulsive. I was trying to complete my edits, when I decided to head in to the bookfest again, partly for the books, and partly for the free air-conditioning. The day wasn’t a complete loss on the writing front however, I took my tablet with me and continued editing on the bus.

And despite not getting as much work done as I wanted, I am so very glad I went in on that second day. From the moment I woke up, I was in a procrastinating kind of mood. So, if I wasn’t going to get stuck into editing, my time was much better spent walking around for hours looking at books, rather than sitting in my room whiling away the hours on the internet.

Not only was it a very enjoyable way to procrastinate, it also served to remind me of the goodness of the human race. Working in retail, I can sometimes get very cynical about the nature of others, and after a while I tend to assume the worst. But walking around the bookfest, listening to people happily discussing books, and helping strangers find something they were looking for, I was reminded that most people are inherently decent.

This was made especially clear when a girl I accidentally bumped into (the two of us so focused on scouring the books, that neither saw the other one coming), noticed one of the books I was holding. This book was one in a series, that she was also trying to collect. As the hours went by, we bumped into each other again, and again. Each time we did, she was holding another book in the series. These were books that she already had, that she was holding just for me, in case I needed it. I ended up with 10 books in the series, mostly due to her kindness.

Overall, I ended up with 46 books for $118. A much better result than the last time I went, when I made the mistake of starting the day in the ‘high-quality’ section. By the time I got to the $2.50 section, I had already spent well over $100. Although I did not get most of the books that were on my list, I still managed to come away with an exciting selection.

And, in case any of you are interested, I have listed the books I bought, and my reasons for buying them. If anyone has anything to add about these books, or my silly justifications for purchasing them, please feel free to leave a comment. I would love to hear your thoughts.

  • Hannibal by Thomas Harris

    Silence of the Lambs is one of my favourite movies, and I picked up that book at last year’s bookfest. So it only seemed right, when I came across this one, to grab it as well.

  • The Neverending Story by Michael Ende

    Who didn’t love The Neverending Story as a child? I loved the movie, I loved the television series, and yet I haven’t read the book. Blasphemy!

  • The Song of the Earth and The Water of Life by Caiseal Mór

    These are books 2 and 3 in a series. Because of that alone I was hesitant about buying these them. I do this too often, I buy a book that comes later in a series, but refuse to read it until I have the ones that come before. So then I’m stuck hunting down the first book, when I don’t even know if I’m going to like the series. And, after looking up the reviews on goodreads.com, I was even more hesitant.

    But, then I opened one of the books to a random page. The very first paragraph I read was about one of the characters using a stick as a club, then realising that it was, in fact, not a stick, but a human thigh bone. That really tickled my fancy, so I instantly put it in my bag.

  • Mariel of Redwall, Martin the Warrior, Redwall, The Legend of Luke, Mossflower, The Taggerung, Mattimeo, The Bellmaker, Marlfox, and Loamhedge by Brian Jacques

    The Redwall books were by far my favourite books as a child. Not even my love for Black Beauty, or Anne of Green Gables could compare. I loved them so much that I forced my parents to read them as well (and they quite enjoyed them, thank you very much). I actually attribute my love of fantasy to this series. While other children were playing sports, I was reading about a fantastical world where woodland creatures go on quests, have sword fights, and wage war.

    These books were actually on my list. However, by my second day at the bookfest I had forgotten all about the list, and was just grabbing books at random. Then I found couple of these books, and the very kind stranger helped me find the rest.

  • The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

    I bought this purely because it was $1, and because I like to read popular books, just to see what all the fuss is about.

  • Veil of Shadows by Jennifer Armintrout

    I picked this one up mistakenly believing it to be a Jennifer ArmEntrout book. I actually did this twice, with the same book, in different sections. So, after reading the synopsis and deciding that the plot sounded alright, I decided to buy it just because of the author’s name.

  • The Return of the King, The Silmarillion, and The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

    The Return of the King was on my list, because I have the first two Lord of the Rings books, and will not be denied the conclusion to the story. I bought the Silmarillion because a friend of mine suggested that I read it. And I bought the Hobbit, just because I already had the rest, so why not?

  • Kushiel’s Chosen and Naamah’s Blessing by Jacqueline Carey

    An author that I like mentioned this series somewhere, possibly on goodreads.com, I can’t exactly remember. Then right after I saw that, I found the first two books in a secondhand bookstore. So I bought them. I’ve been looking to complete the series for a while, and I finally found the third book! Then I accidentally bought book 3/3 from a different series, set in the same universe. Whoops.

  • The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

    Again, this movie was a favourite of mine as a child. I also loved the book, though it has been so long since I’ve read it (I watched the movie again a few months ago).

  • Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews

    I have wanted to check out Ilona Andrews for a while, so when I saw this one, I just grabbed it.

  • Dancing with Werewolves by Carole Nelson Douglas

    Honestly, this seemed like something silly that I would be fun to read, in amongst more serious books.

  • The Immortal Highlander by Karen Marie Moning

    I bought this one for the same reason as I did the one above. And, because the synopsis made me laugh.

  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J. K. Rowling

    I have to confess something right now. I have never finished the Harry Potter series. I had all of the books up to the Order of the Phoenix as a child. But there was a large gap in time between reading those, and buying the Order of the Phoenix. So before reading that one, I wanted to re-read the others. But, when I went to do so, I found that they had all disappeared. And to this day I have no idea where they went. Must be magic.

    So I have been wanting to finish the series for a while now. This happened to be the only copy I found in the $2.50 section, which I was limiting myself to.

  • The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason

    I bought another book in this series on impulse a few weeks ago. So I did the same thing when I saw this one.

  • Through Violet Eyes by Stephen Woodworth

    I bought this simply because the cover was pretty, and the story seemed interesting enough to justify buying it.

  • Angels’ Blood by Nalini Singh

    Again, I bought another book by this author a few weeks ago, and bought this one simply because of that. I haven’t even read the other one yet, so I don’t know if I like this author. But, oh well.

  • Wheel of Time Series 1-8 by Robert Jordan

    These books were on my list. I’ve had two people recommend that I read them, and have had it set in my mind since then that I would. I lucked out and found these 8 books in the same area, one right after another. I didn’t find books 9-11, but, I think that is for the best. I should probably read 1-8 first, to see if I actually like the series.

  • Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling

    The book was not on my list, but it should have been. I have been wanting to buy it for a while, ever since I saw it featured in a list of LGBTIQ fantasy books. It was an extremely exciting moment for me when I stumbled across it. I may have even expressed this excitement in the form of a high pitched squeak, that may have frightened the people around me.

  • Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

    One of my all time favourite series (which you would know if you read my Top 10 post). I have most of the books in the series, but just needed the first few to complete my collection. It is especially exciting that I found this so soon before the release of the last book in the series, Dawn Study.

  • The Painted Man by Peter V. Brett

    I’ve been interested in reading this author for a while.

  • The Gathering by Isobelle Carmody

    Just like the last book, I have been wanting to read some of Isobelle Carmody’s work for quite some time. Ever since I saw her give a talk with the wonderful C. S. Pacat at Oz Comic-Con last year. So I thought, why not start with a standalone novel I found for $2.50?

  • The Coming of the King by Nikolai Tolstoy

    I bought this purely because of the authors last name. So I can trick people into thinking I’m an intellectual by saying, yes I have read Tolstoy.

  • Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent

    I don’t even remember what this book is about. But I like Rachel Vincent.

  • Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

    This one I bought because of my mother. She watched the television series of the same name, and absolutely loved it.

  • The Passage – Justin Cronin

    We have a few copies of this book at my work, so I see it all the time, and I bought it just because of that.

  • Fantasy Lover – Sherrilyn Kenyon

    I read the first three sentences in the synopsis and knew I was going to have to buy this book. The plot just sounded too hilarious. A man trapped inside a book, forced to work as a romance novelesque love slave. It made me smile, so I had to have it. Judging by the reviews on goodreads.com, it is actually a very good book, despite the apparent silliness of the plot.

lifeline

So, that sums up my weekend, and my reasons for why I haven’t read more than a few pages of The Fellowship of the Ring. And why I haven’t completed my edits. And why I didn’t make it to the gym.

Really, such an unproductive weekend it’s been.

But, it was worth every wasted moment. And, I personally cannot think of any better way to waste my time, than to spend the day buying books. Especially when the money goes towards such a wonderful charity organisation.

To all of my fellow Queenslanders, the bookfest is still on in Brisbane until the 26th. So please do yourself a favour and check it out!

 

