Oh the endless struggle of choosing a book to read, when you are addicted to buying books. I have dozens of unread books on my overflowing shelf. And yet in the past week I have bought four more, and put two others aside to be bought at a later date.

I will admit, I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately. I have found it nearly impossible to pick up a book, and stick with it for more than a few chapters. Nothing seems to suit my mood. Nothing seems to hold my attention.

Now, I am staring at my collection unable to make a decision. My options are endless, though I have narrowed the choices down to a more manageable list. But how do you choose, when you aren’t even sure what you feel like reading?

Do I read something new, from an author I’ve never read? Something that I am not wholly sure about?

  • Shards of Hope – Nalini Singh
  • The Selection – Kiera Cass
  • Chasing Midnight – Susan Krinard
  • Eragon – Christopher Paolini
  • Darkfever – Kare Marie Moning

Or, do I read something new, that I’m sure to enjoy, from an author I already love?

  • The Summoning – Kelley Armstrong
  • Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy – Cassandra Clare
  • My Soul to Take – Rachel Vincent
  • Talon – Julie Kagawa

Finally, do I return to a beloved classic?

  • The Alpha and Omega series – Patricia Briggs

once I start the first book, there is no chance that I will not finish the series

  • Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas

though if I do this, I will have to finish the series and the emotional turmoil will be unbearable

  • A Court of Mist and Fury – Sarah J. Maas

because Rhysand is everything

  • Captive Prince – C. S. Pacat

life is better with Damen and Laurent in it

  • Ruthless – Anne Stuart

a romance novel with no supernatural elements to it, not my typical read. And yet, I have read this book a dozen times over, and enjoy it every time

I am not sure if I thought that putting my options into words would make the decision easier. If I did, I was wrong. I am as conflicted as ever.

So, I will try to focus on my own writing, and ignore the overwhelming desire to read something. At least until I figure out exactly what that something is. Hopefully, this slump will have some kind of benefit, and my book will one day sit on a fellow bookworm’s shelf, while they too struggle to decide what to read.

If anyone happens to have any suggestions, either from my list, or just from their own bookshelf, then please let me know in the comments section. Maybe one of you will know my mind better than I do right now.

