I am constantly being asked to name my ‘favourite book’. A task that I find impossible. To ask someone like me to choose a favourite book is like asking a mother to choose her favourite child. These stories are a part of me, a crucial piece of my heart and soul.

Each story is beloved for a different reason. Each character a different friend. No one book could eclipse all others, because each fit a different time, place, and mood.

That being said, I can force myself to make a list of my favourites (the ‘s’ making all the difference). 

These are the book series that withstand the test of time, and continue to be my preferred option when I want something to read, but don’t wish to start anything new. I will not include standalone novels in this list, if I did that I would never be able to cull it down to 10.

My Top 10 Favourite Book Series

  1. Captive Prince – C. S. Pacat
  2. Nightrunner – Lynn Flewelling
  3. Mercy Thompson – Patricia Briggs
  4. Alpha and Omega – Patricia Briggs
  5. A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas
  6. Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Mass
  7. Chronicles of Ixia – Maria V. Snyder
  8. Healer – Maria V. Snyder
  9. Women of the Otherworld – Kelley Armstrong
  10. Dark Swan – Richelle Mead
img_5850-2
A picture of me, dressed as Castiel, meeting the lovely C. S. Pacat.

 

Supplementary List (interchangeable with # 9 and 10, depending on the day)

  • Lux – Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Balefire – Cate Tiernan
  • Anne of Green Gables – L. M. Montgomery
  • Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead
  • Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare
  • Kitty Norville – Carrie Vaughn
  • Blood Singer – Cat Adams
  • The Southern Vampire Mysteries – Charlaine Harris (excluding some of the later books)

 

